top of page

The Jim Stewart MVP Award

In 2014, Jim Stewart, Kyle Kaminda, and Corey Jones, encouraged by their sons, identified the need for boys’ volleyball in Texas high schools. With Stewart at the helm, the three shouldered the momentous task of organizing young men from schools across the region - and the even harder task of convincing those schools to support boys’ volleyball teams. Seven teams comprised the Texas Boys Varsity Volleyball League at its inception. 


After five years of late nights and early Saturday mornings, the league had grown too big for one person to operate. The new Texas Boys High School Volleyball League now encompasses 22 teams and a brand-new Houston district. 


TBHSV forever honors and appreciates the dedication and stewardship of Jim Stewart for making boys' volleyball a reality in high schools across the state.

The 2022 Award Winner

Tristan Blake

bottom of page